Daily Skincare Regimen & Tips

image-123

Before becoming an aesthetician 6 years ago, I was hardly an advocate for skincare. I shamefully used bar soap and oil of olay moisturizer on a every other day basis. It wasn’t until entering my training did I then come to learn just how important it is to maintain a healthy skincare regime. To find the right product that matches your specific skincare need. We all have different types so makes sense right!?

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not perfect and I’m lucky if I get to fully wash my face a day. I often find myself reaching for the face wipes for convenience on evenings that I’m exhausted. Life get’s busy and time is money so the everyday cleanse, exfoliate & moisture gets neglected. But once starting a routine it’s kinda hard to break it!

Cleanse – Finding the right cleanser can seem tricky, go with something soft that suites your skin type. Find products that contain no-alcohol. Use twice daily morning & evening!

Exfoliate – It feels so good scrubbing the slate clean! Especially before applying make-up. Be sure to exfoliate at least 2 times per week. Finding exfoliates that best suite your skin whether it being soft grit or coarse. Play around with different textures and brands to find one that you prefer.

Mask – My favourite part! Depending on your skin type, will determine which mask you should use. If you have more oily spots then use a clay mask, but if your more dry & normal a collagen mask! For myself I have problems with my T zone (forehead, nose & chin) I use a clay on my T zone and a collagen for the rest! Also 2 times a week after exfoliating.

Tone – This step I didn’t really understand the purpose at first but once I started using it on a daily it becomes hard to skip this step! It feels so good, not only after washing your face but even throughout the day when your just feeling ‘blah’. It refreshens your skin and brings your moisture back!

Eye Cream – One thing that I did learn in school was that it’s never to soon to start using anti-aging creams. Applying anything that helps rid those fine lines at 25+ helps prolong the signs of aging.

Moisture – Finally, the last step. If your oily you’d like something more light weight and if your dry then a little heavier is best. I also swap moisturizers with seasons depending on climate change. Winter I use a heavier moisturizer & summer I use light with SPF. Massage it in circular motions with gentle pressure to move circulation and get that skin looking plump!

Drink lots of water with lemon!

It’s all about finding the products and steps that work best for you. It’s also not about finding the most expensive high end brands. There are tons of resources out there that can help you make your own natural products with active ingredients that work just as well. I mean for anti-aging creams, you may not want to skimp on. That being said there are many really great products out there that can help you find a solution!! If you have any questions feel free to ask away…It’s all about feeling good in the skin your in!

Know Your Skin Type??

  • Dry Skin – Flaky, scaly or rough.
  • Oily Skin – Shiny, greasy with larger pores.
  • Combination Skin – Dry in some spots (cheeks) and oily in others (forehead, nose & chin)
  • Sensitive Skin – May sting, burn or itch after you use some make up or other products.
  • Normal Skin – Balanced, clear & not sensitive.

Keisha Lynne, xx

7 thoughts on “Daily Skincare Regimen & Tips

  1. Is there an ‘evil’ skin type?? I think I have that….lol. I recently discovered oil cleansers, like the one julep has. It’s literally the best thing to happen to my skin in a hot minute. But I would love to find a perfect exfoliator too. Anything you recommend?

    Like

  2. I need to find a better skincare regimen. I use Clinique which I enjoy, but getting into the habit of doing it is the hard part! I HATE washing my face at the end of the day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

